Ray Welsh Memorial

Ray Welsh was a founding member of the SDAV Hot Rods and raced in the Class for over 50 years and was considered quite a legend throughout the racing circuit. He was an excellent driver and brought a lot of fun and laughter to our race meetings.
Some of his achievements are:
*4 Australian Titles
*9 Victorian Titles

The Memorial Race is run every year in memory of one of the SDAV’s greatest members and drivers and for his contribution to our club and speedway in general.

Ray’s wife, Elaine, remains involved with SDAV Hot Rods as our club’s Treasurer and his daughter, Narelle, is our Assistant Secretary.
Ray may be gone but the Club is still a family to Elaine and her family.

The Ray Welsh Memorial Race is considered the biggest race of the SDAV calendar by all drivers within the class.

Season 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Venue
2013 Jason Kavanagh Dean West Ronnie Gilligan Kali Hovey Shannon Meakins Redline
2014 Dean West Shannon Meakins Phil Jenkins Kali Hovey Dylan Linehan Rushworth
2015 Kali Hovey Shannon Meakins Allen Luckett Stan Marco Jnr Glenn Lawless Rushworth
2016 Dean West Russell Hovey Steve Robertson Mario Nastasi Glenn Lawless Rushworth
2017 Jason May Dean West Russell Hovey Jamie May Shannon Meakins Rushworth
2018 Shannon Meakins Stan Marco Snr Michael Coad Dean West Russell Hovey Rushworth
2019 Shannon Meakins Phil Jenkins Kali Hovey Russell Hovey Dylan Linehan Rushworth